12 Islamic Months with their Meanings

The Islamic calendar is a lunar calendar consisting of twelve months. Each month holds specific cultural and religious significance within Islam. 

Muharram (محرّم):

 “Forbidden.”  The first month, a time for reflection and spiritual renewal. Marks the beginning of the new year and the Day of Ashura, commemorating the martyrdom of Imam Hussein.

Safar (صفر):

 “Empty.”  Traditionally associated with travel and change. Some consider it less auspicious but a reminder to trust in God’s plan.

Rabiʻ al-Awwal (ربيع الأول): 

“First Spring.”  Marks the birth of Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) and celebrates his teachings and legacy.

Rabiʻ al-Thani (ربيع الآخر): 

“Second Spring.” Continuation of celebrations surrounding Prophet Muhammad’s (PBUH) birth and life.

Jumada al-Awwal (جمادى الأولى): 

“First Frost.” Associated with increased rainfall and agricultural blessings.

Jumada al-Thani (جمادى الآخر): 

“Second Frost.” Continuation of blessings and preparation for Ramadan.

Rajab (رجب):

 “Respectful.” Considered a sacred month with increased acts of worship and preparation for Ramadan.

Shaʻban (شعبان): 

“Branching out.” Month of increased supplication, forgiveness, and preparation for the spiritual peak of Ramadan.

Ramadan (رمضان): 

“Scorching heat.” The holiest month, marked by mandatory fasting, increased Quran recitation, and heightened spiritual focus.

Shawwal (شوّال):

 “Eagerness.” Celebrates the end of Ramadan with Eid al-Fitr, a joyous festival marked by prayers, charity, and family gatherings.

Dhu al-Qiʻdah (ذو القعدة):

 “Month of sitting.” Time for rest and preparation for Hajj pilgrimage.

Dhu al-Hijjah (ذو الحجة): 

“Month of pilgrimage.” Culminates with the Hajj pilgrimage, a mandatory act for able Muslims, and Eid al-Adha, a festival of sacrifice and community celebration.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *